Congress Calls for Disqualification of 6 MLAs over Cross-Voting in 2024 Rajya Sabha Elections, Sources Say

The Congress-led government in Himachal Pradesh is in turmoil following allegations of its MLAs engaging in cross-voting in favor of a BJP candidate during the Rajya Sabha polls held on Tuesday.

In the aftermath of the 2024 Rajya Sabha Elections, sources indicate that the Congress party has initiated proceedings to seek the disqualification of six rebel MLAs who allegedly engaged in cross-voting.

This move comes on the heels of revelations that these Six MLAs crossed party lines, thereby aiding the BJP candidate, Harsh Mahajan, in securing a Rajya Sabha seat from the hill state.

Despite being in power in Himachal Pradesh with 40 MLAs and the support of three independent MLAs in the 68-member house, the Congress suffered a setback as its candidate, Abhishek Manu Singhvi, lost the Rajya Sabha seat.

Acknowledging his defeat, Singhvi expressed gratitude to the MLAs whose cross-voting contributed to Harsh Mahajan’s victory. The final outcome tilted in Mahajan’s favor after a tie-breaker draw of lots.

Singhvi remarked, “I would also like to thank the nine persons (MLAs) because they have taught me a lot about human nature, its fickleness or its resoluteness. They supped with us…So, I think we are bad judges of human character, they are obviously better judges of human character.”

The cross-voting incident has thrown the state government into disarray, with the opposition BJP asserting that the Congress administration has lost its majority in the house.

The Congress’s move to seek the disqualification of rebel MLAs is perceived as an attempt to safeguard its government in the state.

Amidst political upheaval, Himachal Pradesh Assembly Speaker Kuldeep Singh Pathania held discussions with Governor Shiv Pratap Shukla at Raj Bhavan on Wednesday.

This development unfolds against the backdrop of speculation that the BJP may introduce a motion of no-confidence in the assembly against the Congress government during the state’s Budget Session, which commences today.

In the 68-member Himachal Pradesh state assembly, the Congress holds 40 seats while the BJP holds 25. The remaining three seats are held by independents.